Wisconsin Corn Hybrid Performance Trials 2023: Southern Zone, early maturity grain
2023 · Southern Zone, Wisconsin · conducted by University of Wisconsin-Madison
Compare grain corn hybrids of 107 day relative maturity or earlier, as rated by their own seed companies, under common management across the southern Wisconsin production zone.
Protocol
- Crop
- Corn
- Season
- full season
- Sites covered
- Arlington, Wisconsin · Janesville, Wisconsin · Montfort, WisconsinFigures published by this report are averages across these 3 sites unless a row says otherwise.
- Design
- not stated by the report
- Replications
- 3
- Plants per plot
- -
- In-row spacing
- -
- Row spacing
- -
- Population basis
- -
- Seeded
- -
- Transplanted
- -
- Harvest
- -
- Harvests
- -
Production system. field.
Analysis. Figures are averages over the three southern-zone locations rather than measurements at a single field, which is how the report publishes them. Entries were grouped into this trial by their company relative maturity rating, so the grouping itself rests on numbers the companies produced by differing methods.
Results
4 of the 32 entries grown here are varieties AMSeed holds records for. Letters are the report's own mean-separation groups: values sharing a letter were not significantly different from one another.
| Variety | As published | Yield (moisture-15-5-percent) | grain moisture | test weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dekalb DKC101-35VT2RIB relative maturity 101 RM, the seed company's own rating. An index, not a count of days: this report states that companies rate maturity by differing standards and round to five-day increments. marketed product; the hybrid behind it is not disclosed by the trial | Dekalb DKC101-35VT2RIB | 263 bu/ac | 19.0 % | 53 lb/bu |
| Power Plus 1K18Q relative maturity 100 RM, the seed company's own rating. An index, not a count of days: this report states that companies rate maturity by differing standards and round to five-day increments. marketed product; the hybrid behind it is not disclosed by the trial | Power Plus 1K18Q | 255 bu/ac | 19.2 % | 55 lb/bu |
| Wyffels W2446RIB relative maturity 100 RM, the seed company's own rating. An index, not a count of days: this report states that companies rate maturity by differing standards and round to five-day increments. marketed product; the hybrid behind it is not disclosed by the trial | Wyffels W2446RIB | 248 bu/ac | 18.5 % | 56 lb/bu |
| Dairyland DS-4003Q relative maturity 100 RM, the seed company's own rating. An index, not a count of days: this report states that companies rate maturity by differing standards and round to five-day increments. marketed product; the hybrid behind it is not disclosed by the trial | Dairyland DS-4003Q | 231 bu/ac | 18.9 % | 57 lb/bu |
How these numbers were produced
Grain yield corrected to 15.5% moisture. Plot grain weight converted to bushels per acre and corrected to 15.5 percent moisture, the US commercial standard for shelled corn. The correction is what makes two plots comparable: grain harvested wetter weighs more for the same dry matter, so an uncorrected bushel figure measures the weather at harvest as much as the hybrid. A yield quoted without its moisture basis is not a figure that can be compared with anything. Standard: Ohio Corn Performance Test evaluation procedures.
Grain moisture at harvest. Moisture content of the grain as harvested, before drying. Reported alongside yield because it carries real cost: the same test charges a drying penalty for every point above 15.5 percent, so two hybrids at equal corrected yield are not equally profitable if one comes off the field wetter. Standard: Ohio Corn Performance Test evaluation procedures.
Test weight on grain at field moisture. Bulk density in pounds per bushel, measured on grain at field moisture rather than after drying. Because the measurement is taken wet, test weights from trials that dried their samples first are not directly comparable with these. Standard: Ohio Corn Performance Test evaluation procedures.
Entries not published here
This trial grew 32 entries. AMSeed publishes results for 4 of them. 28 of the remainder are simply not recorded here yet: the source publishes them and we have not transcribed them, which is unfinished work rather than a judgement about the entries. The point of stating the total is that the trial is represented as what it actually was rather than as the slice we happen to cover.
| Entry | Why no result is shown |
|---|
What this trial does not establish
One zone in one season, and the yield, moisture and test weight shown are zone averages rather than measurements at any one place: a hybrid that did well here may owe it to one of the three sites rather than to consistency across them. Relative maturity is a company rating, not a measurement this trial made, and the report itself warns that companies rate maturity by different standards and round to five-day increments.
Growing conditions in Wisconsin · all trials · how AMSeed handles evidence
Sources & References
Evidence: 1 source, an independent reference.
- Wisconsin Corn Hybrid Performance Trials 2023 (A3653) · University of Wisconsin-Madison Extension (2023), University or Government